top of page

for you were called to freedom

Galatians 5:13

For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.

This blog post is going to begin with a verse because it is the inspiration for why I am writing today. We were called to freedom. This sounds so ironic to me because free is the last thing that I feel. After the accident, I often feel trapped. Mostly trapped in a body with a brain that doesn't work right. I struggle daily with anxiety that sometimes gets the best of me. Free is honestly not how I feel.

I have a bible app on my phone that shows me a verse everyday on my lock screen. I love it. The first thing I do in the morning is look at that verse. Not everyday - because no I am not perfect. But I try to. Today's verse, the verse above, hit a chord with me. As great as this verse is, I couldn't help but feel that free is the wrong word. I often long for the old body I had before the morning of 5/1/15. Even now, a year later, I continue to struggle.

So, today's blog post is to work through that feeling of "freedom" that I struggle with.

To be honest, all I am doing is telling myself: "I am free..." over and over...

And then I made myself think of ways that can answer this question:

How am I free?

I am free from that crushed vehicle. I am no longer trapped in the back.

I am free from that annoying/uncomfortable back brace.

I am free from being trapped at home. (Thank you Courage Kenny for helping me pass my driving test).

I am free

But most importantly,

I am free from death, and will look forward to eternity with my savior, Jesus Christ.

---

So now, after sitting here and thinking about freedom, I realize I was wrong. I am free. And you can be too. There is something unexplainable about my faith that really has given me the strength to get through this. I can honestly say that if I wasn't a believer in Jesus, I wouldn't be where I am today. If you are struggling with something... know that there is power in the name of Jesus to get you through.

There is truth in the verse. I know it because I am living proof of it.

Philippians 4:7

And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

He will get you through. Maybe not in the way you think, but He will. He has gotten me through.

I believe He will get you through it too.

Hope you have a happy Sunday.

Galatians 5:13

For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page