top of page

lead me to the rock

Do you every pray "come bail me out of this God?" I have prayed that a lot lately.

"Come bail me out of this brain injury."

"Lord, please toss me a rope, and bail me out of this." That's what I pray.

It can be a slippery slope to have the "come bail me out of this" attitude. So in these moments, I pray. Prayer and refreshing my memory of bible verses show me that God is here for us to lean on, to count on when life brings us to difficult places.

I have mentioned before, but this book I am currently reading is really great. I read little bits at a time because it is deep. Walking with God Through Pain and Suffering by Timothy Keller. In this book he says; "Suffering is not outside God's plan but part of it." Suffering is not meaningless.

I believe that difficulties in life can help us change our perspective about what really matters in life. With the help of my husband, family, friends, and faith, I am able to conquer this obstacle. I think this has given me the ability to have more sympathy for others... offer quicker forgiveness... love deeper... AND let the little things go more easily.

This verse is perfect for what I am trying to describe.

Romans 5:3-4

but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope...

What a great reminder... suffering leads to hope. It surely has in my case and I hope that by sharing my story, you have a little bit more of that hope too.

Oh, and hey can I tell you something cool? The photos on today's blog are ones I painted myself. The bottom one is similar to an art piece I saw on the show Fixer Upper. I love that show :-)

---

Wait for the Lord, because He can offer help and a shield. He can bring peace that is just too plain hard to describe. I could let this car accident turn me into a bitter, crappy person OR I can trust in the Lord's plans for my life and use this as a way to share the hope I have found in Him. Only in Him.

Let me leave you with these verses of HOPE.

Psalm 61

Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer; from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I, for you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the enemy.

Let me dwell in your tent forever! Let me take refuge under the shelter of your wings!

Isaiah 58:9

Then you shall call, and the Lord will answer; you shall cry, and he will say, ‘Here I am.’

John 13:7

Jesus replied, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.”

With the Lord, you got this. Go tackle that mountain you are facing.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page